Every artist is an explorer.

"Every artist is an explorer."  Henri Matisse.

Art is Basic

Somerset Studio Gallery Magazine

I was super thrilled to receive an email that I was going to have an art journal published in the Somerset Studio Gallery magazine (Summer 2014 issue).  I had submitted this book over 2 years ago and I had pretty much forgotten all about it.  You can see all the pages in a video here.

Art is Basic

Springtime Flowers in Watercolor

Springtime flowers painted with watercolors, like these,

Inspired by Alisa Burke's online workshop

Painted and Doodled Flowers

Flower journal page painted with a variety of acrylic paints and doodles on top. Inspired by Stephanie Corfee's workshop.

Art is Basic

Auction Total!

How awesome is this?  The art auction for #BringBackOurGirls raised over $3,900!

Thanks to everyone who participated, donated artwork or bid on items!   Thanks especially to Jessica Sporn for organizing it!

Art is Basic

These two...

These two..
keep me so busy
on my toes
completely exhausted
love them so much.

Bring Back Our Girls Art Auction

I am part of a group of artists who are putting on an online art auction TODAY to raise money for Girl Rising.

Go to http://www.32auctions.com/bringbackourgirls to participate in the auction!   The auction is ONLY FOR TODAY!

Here are the blogs of all of the artists participating:

Jessica Sporn   http://jessicasporn.blogspot.com
Linda Kittmer  http://lindakittmer.blogspot.ca
Ronda Palazzari  http://rondapalazzari.typepad.com
Marjie Kemper   http://www.marjiekemper.com
Judy Shea   http://thekeytomyart.wordpress.com
Glenda Hoagland   http://pilgrimsthoughts.blogspot.com
Astrid Maclean  http://astridsartisticefforts.blogspot.com
Lisa Pace   http://lisapace.com
Jackie Neal   http://creatingwithoutcrayons-jackiepneal.com
Claudine Criner   http://claudinesartcorner.blogspot.com
France Papillon   http://www.france-papillon.com
Kristin Van Valkenburgh  http://TwinkleTwinkleLikeAStar.blogspot.com
Marcia Beckett  http://marciabeckett.blogspot.com
Ruth Levy   http://lerusho.wordpress.com/
Sally Lynn MacDonald   http://www.SallyLynnMacDonald.com
Renee Zarate   http://renee-boltonhouse.blogspot.com
Natasha May   http://natashamay.blogspot.com/
Carmen Whitehead   http://www.serendipitystudiobycw.blogspot.com/
Seth Apter   http://thealteredpage.blogspot.com/
Marybeth Shaw   http://mbshaw.blogspot.com/
Amy Ingardia-Walker  http://creativelyquirkyathome.blogspot.com/
Kelly Warren  http://happyshackdesigns.blogspot.com
Julie Bernier http://juliebernierphotography.zenfolio.com/
Adrienne Hoban  http://www.allure-decor.com/
Krista van Tol   http://craftylittlepigtails.blogspot.com
Cheryl Grigsby http://cherylspaperartz.blogspot.com
Jill Meyer www.jillmeyer.com
Lisa Flaherty http://mypeaceofpaper.blogspot.com
Kerry C. Mitchell http://kerrycmitchell.com
Lizabeth Harrington http://www.craicarts.blogspot.com; www.facebook.com/craicarts.com
Barbara Lanza www.barbaralanza.com
Jamie Dougherty www.jamiedoughertydesigns.com
Doreen Kassel www.doreenkassel.com ; www.http://doreengay-kassel.blogspot.com/

Bring Back Our Girls

Thursday, May 15, will be one month since nearly 300 Nigerian schoolgirls were kidnapped; it is rumored that they have been sold into slavery.  Can you imagine their anguish, and the anguish of their families?  It is unthinkable.

After weeks of this tragedy being virtually invisible, our government is sending some aid and many demonstrations have occurred.  The world is taking notice. Jessica Sporn put out "A CALL TO ART," and a lot of incredible artists are participating.  Here are the details:

So many amazing artists (including Ronda Palazzari, Kristen Powers, Marjie Kemper, Lesley Veneble and Judy Shea, to name a few) are participating in the online auction, which starts on May 15th at 7AM EDT, and ends on May 17 at 3PM EDT.  

Here is the artwork I am donating to the auction and here is the direct listing.  Bidding starts at $10 for this 9"x12" original mixed media collage on paper.